Who We Are

Tubman Elementary Administrator in Charge

Wanda Carey, Administration in Charge

Greetings Tubman Families and Friends,

I am excited to assume the role of AIC at Tubman School and look forward to working together as we continue to sustain the great things that are already happening at Tubman. Over the next few weeks, it is my hope to implement systems and structures that will strengthen the overall school culture and climate. I have an open door policy, and operate with professionalism and integrity. 

Sincerely, 

Principal Carey

wrcarey@cps.edu

Assistant Principal Bernadette Moore

Bernadette Moore, Principal

Greetings Harriet Tubman Community,

It is with uttermost joy that I write this letter to you as Principal of Harriet Tubman Elementary School. I want to thank each member of the Local School Council for taking the time to review my application, conduct interviews, and ultimately select me as the new principal. Your dedication to the school and commitment to finding the best candidate for

this position is truly inspiring. I am privileged to be working alongside such a passionate and dedicated group of individuals. I am humbled by the trust and confidence you have placed in me to lead this prestigious school.

Your warm welcome and support have been astounding, and I am excited to be a part of this vibrant community. Our school is fortunate to have such resilient, compassionate, and dedicated staff. They are committed to ensuring that our students receive the best education possible, and I am honored to lead that mission.

As I begin my tenure as Principal, I want to assure you that I am dedicated to upholding the highest standards of academic excellence, equity, and inclusion. Every child deserves the opportunity to succeed, regardless of their background or circumstances. I will work tirelessly to assure that our students are given a positive learning experience, and that they are prepared to succeed in a rapidly changing world.

One of my top priorities as Principal will be to continue building strong relationships with students, teachers, parents, and caregivers. Creating a solid foundation for a successful school will include fostering community relationships, and I am devoted to developing a culture of respect, collaboration, and open communication. I will be available to listen to your concerns, answer your questions, and work with you to find solutions to any problems that may arise.

I will strive to make sure that our curriculum is challenging, engaging, and relevant to meet the needs of our students. Every child has the potential to succeed, and it is my responsibility to ensure Tubman’s educators impart them with the knowledge that will enhance their future. Also, continuously working together to make instructional shifts that will yield positive student outcomes. 

Finally, I want to thank the broader community for their ongoing support of Tubman Elementary School. Our school is fortunate to have such a strong network of parents, volunteers, and partnerships, and I look forward to collaborating with all of you to continue to make Tubman Elementary a place where every child can thrive.

Thank you again for this incredible opportunity, and I look forward to collectively creating and implementing a vision that will optimize the learning experiences of all Tubman children.

Warm Regards,

Principal Moore
bamoore1@cps.edu

Meet Our Faculty and Staff

Ms. Starring

Pre-K, Room 110
lstarring@cps.edu

Ms. Lopez

Pre-K, Room 110

sllopez1@cps.edu

Ms. Cole

K, Room 201
gcole5@cps.edu

Ms. Rose

K, Room 202
bault@cps.edu

Ms. Wallace

1st Grade, Room 204
cwallace12@cps.edu

Ms. Hulbert

1st Grade, Room 203
ekellam@cps.edu

Ms. Fleener

2nd Grade, Room 206
efleener1@cps.edu

 

Ms. Astle

2nd Grade, Room 205
kistelzel@cps.edu

Ms. Fitzsimons

3rd Grade, Room 210
cafitzsimons@cps.edu

Ms. Andreadou

3rd Grade, Room 209
eandreadou@cps.edu

Mr. Gillis

4th Grade, Room 208
legillis@cps.edu

Ms. Ladzik

5th Grade, Room 302
sladzik1@cps.edu

Mr. Yang

6th Grade, Room 303, Mathematics, Science
wyyang@cps.edu

Ms. Sutton

6th Grade, Room 304, Language and Literature, Individuals and Societies
tmsutton1@cps.edu

Ms. Welsh

7th Grade, Room 305, Science
hjwelsh@cps.edu

Ms. Lipo

7th Grade, Room 306, Language and Literature, Individuals and Societies.
emlipo@cps.edu

Ms. Robertson

8th Grade, Room 308, Language and Literature, Individuals and Societies
tsrobertson@cps.edu

Ms. Pierson

8th Grade, Room 307, Mathematics
jgremmer@cps.edu

Ms. Manatad

Room 203
rmanatad@cps.edu

Ms. Nueno

Room 206
jmnueno@cps.edu

Ms. Seabrook

Room 209
sseabrook@cps.edu

Ms. Brichta

Room 208
jrbrichta1@cps.edu

Mr. Rench

Room 302
djrench@cps.edu

Ms. Rosenberg

Case Manager, Room 303
rcrosenberg@cps.edu

Ms. Vincent

Room 304, Middle Years Program (6-8) Coordinator

jcvincent@cps.edu

Ms. McNally

Room 306
memcnally@cps.edu

Ms. Gyorffy

Bilingual
jjtupacyupanqui@cps.edu

Ms. Taguchi

Japanese (K-8)
ataguchi@cps.edu

Mr. Laughlin

Library (K-5)
Design (6-8)
jlaughlin@cps.edu

Mr. Hall

Music (K-8)
njhall@cps.edu

Ms. C

Dance (K-8)
Drama (K-7)
Visual Arts (6-8)
jjheyn-cubacub@cps.edu

Mr. Oni

Physical & Health Education (K-8)
doni@cps.edu

Ms. Pirillis

IB Primary Years Program (PK-5) Coordinator
fpirillis@cps.edu

Ms. Brown-Rivera

Instructional Core Interventionist
mhbrown@cps.edu

Mr. Reynolds

Restorative Justice Coordinator
blreynolds1@cps.edu

Ms. Beeker

School Counselor
hlbaumgardne@cps.edu

Ms. Hernandez

yhernandez141@cps.edu

Ms. Maldanado

mrmaldonado@cps.edu

Ms. Washington

lwashington72@cps.edu

Ms. McGuire

Social Work
ksmcguire@cps.edu

Ms. Mason

Speech
dmmcnicholas@cps.edu

Ms. Huang

Psychologist
aahuang2@cps.edu

e

Ms. Reilly

creilly1@cps.edu

Ms. Brooks

cmbrooks4@cps.edu

Ms. Gordon

School Clerk
jrgordon@cps.edu

Mr. Tinich

Room 307
ajtinich1@cps.edu

Primary Years Program (PYP) Classrooms

Pre-K

Kindergarten

First Grade

Second Grade

Third Grade

Fourth Grade

Fifth Grade

Middle Years Program (MYP) Classrooms

Sixth Grade

  • Room 304 - Tiffany Sutton, Language and Literature, Individuals and Societies
    tmsutton1@cps.edu

 

Seventh & Eighth Grade

  • Room 306 - Ellen Lipo, Language and Literature, Individuals and Societies.
    emlipo@cps.edu
  • Room 308 - Toni Robertson, Language and Literature, Individuals and Societies
    tsrobertson@cps.edu

Specialists

Fine Arts
World Language
Media and Technology
International Baccalaureate
Intervention & Restorative Justice
Physical Education
Counseling