Who We Are

Meet Our Principal

Kimberly Gibson, Principal

Greetings Tubman Community,

My name is Kimberly Gibson and I am honored to be the Principal of Harriet Tubman Elementary. My love for learning began as an elementary student and continues throughout my life. I am a proud product of Chicago Public School (CPS). I have had many roles in my career at CPS and it appears that each role has helped me to remain humble, develop deep respect for each unique role of all stakeholders in education, and have helped to prepare me for my current role. My love for children and the desire to leverage partnerships with families and stakeholders in order to provide them with the best education possible is my motivation to be a school leader. This passion has blossomed from my experiences as a Student, Parent, Parent Volunteer, Teacher- Assistant, Special Education Teacher, English Language Proficiency Teacher, Bilingual Coordinator, Mentor/Coach in the CPS Teacher Residency Program, Resident Principal and currently, I am beginning my tenure as Principal of Tubman. I have over 23 years of experience in education and have served in every grade level in some capacity from pre-k-8th and these experiences have helped me to develop a better understanding of the skills students develop as they progress through their elementary education.

I am a Chicago native and I was born and raised on the Westside of Chicago. I am the proud parent of eight wonderful children and I live in the North Lawndale Community. My journey to educational leadership includes a Bachelor’s Degree in Early Childhood Education with Special Education Endorsement from Kendall College, Master’s Degree in Curriculum and Instruction with my ESL and Bilingual Endorsement from National Louis University (NLU), Educational Specialist Degree in Educational Leadership with my Administrative Endorsement and Superintendent Endorsement from NLU, and I am currently completing my Doctorate Degree in Educational Leadership. I am committed to being a lifelong learner and strive to use my vast leadership experiences to support the amazing community at Tubman and continue to ensure all students have access to a quality education.

I have gained valuable leadership skills through my vast experiences in CPS that I will continue to develop as the Principal of Tubman. These leadership skills have equipped me with insights through a different lens regarding the many challenges students face within schools. I have a strong belief that all students can learn with the proper support, resources, and high expectations set for them. I will continue to actively advocate for equitable outcomes in education for all students. I am excited to support the Tubman students, staff, and Tubman Community. I look forward to learning and growing within the Tubman Community. I am resolute in my belief that my role as principal is to put students at the forefront of all decisions, support teachers, and meaningfully engage with parents and community members through shared leadership. Please feel free to contact me at any time with any questions, comments, or concerns. If I do not have an answer I will work collaboratively with the administrative team and district representatives to help find one.

In partnership,

Kimberly Gibson
kgibson@cps.edu

Meet Our Assistant Principal

Bernadette Moore, Assistant Principal

Greetings Harriet Tubman Community,

It is with uttermost joy that I write this letter to you as the Assistant Principal of Harriet Tubman Elementary School. The entire Tubman community is a unique and special place that I am incredibly excited to be a part of.

I have been committed to the Chicago Public Schools for 15 years. I have been a classroom teacher, and most of those years I taught middle school.  Along with that, I engaged in leadership roles such as MYP Teacher Leader, ILT Facilitator, Data Strategist, School Scheduler, Technology Coordinator, and LSC Teacher Representative.  Throughout my career, I followed the advice of Abraham Lincoln, who said, "I will prepare, and someday my chance will come." Over the past eight years, I have been a student of my profession, and worked untiringly to develop and improve my skill sets.  I participated in every training available to remain relevant and relatable both academically and emotionally.

I pride myself on being a person of integrity and trustworthiness. I am a lifelong learner, who is passionate about education and helping students achieve success. I lead by example and model collaborative leadership with all stakeholders. In doing so, I ensure that everyone's perspectives are acknowledged and valued. Honoring all perspectives is important to me because that creates a positive foundation among every stakeholder.

In my life, I strive to maintain balance, and a healthy mix of work and play. Outside of my professional career, I enjoy spending time with family, exploring new adventures, reading, traveling, walking, and watching sports.

I look forward to meeting all of you, and please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions, concerns, or issues.

Warm regards,

Bernadette A. Moore
bamoore1@cps.edu

#WeAreIBBulldogs

Meet Our Faculty and Staff

Ms. Starring

Pre-K, Room 110
lstarring@cps.edu

Ms. Lopez

Pre-K, Room 110

sllopez1@cps.edu

Ms. Cole

K, Room 201
gcole5@cps.edu

Ms. Rose

K, Room 202
bault@cps.edu

Ms. Wallace

1st Grade, Room 204
cwallace12@cps.edu

Ms. Hulbert

1st Grade, Room 203
ekellam@cps.edu

Ms. Fleener

2nd Grade, Room 206
efleener1@cps.edu

 

Ms. Astle

2nd Grade, Room 205
kistelzel@cps.edu

Ms. Fitzsimons

3rd Grade, Room 210
cafitzsimons@cps.edu

Ms. Andreadou

3rd Grade, Room 209
eandreadou@cps.edu

Mr. Gillis

4th Grade, Room 208
legillis@cps.edu

Ms. Ladzik

5th Grade, Room 302
sladzik1@cps.edu

Mr. Yang

6th Grade, Room 303, Mathematics, Science
wyyang@cps.edu

Ms. Sutton

6th Grade, Room 304, Language and Literature, Individuals and Societies
tmsutton1@cps.edu

Ms. Welch

7th Grade, Room 305, Science
hjwelsh@cps.edu

Ms. Lipo

7th Grade, Room 306, Language and Literature, Individuals and Societies.
emlipo@cps.edu

Ms. Robertson

8th Grade, Room 308, Language and Literature, Individuals and Societies
tsrobertson@cps.edu

Ms. Pierson

8th Grade, Room 307, Mathematics
jgremmer@cps.edu

Ms. Manatad

Room 201
rmanatad@cps.edu

Ms. Nueno

Room 206
jmnueno@cps.edu

Ms. Seabrook

Room 209
sseabrook@cps.edu

Ms. Brichta

Room 208
jrbrichta1@cps.edu

Mr. Rench

Room 302
djrench@cps.edu

Ms. Rosenberg

Case Manager, Room 303
rcrosenberg@cps.edu

Ms. Vincent

Room 304, Middle Years Program (6-8) Coordinator

jcvincent@cps.edu

Ms. McNally

Room 306
memcnally@cps.edu

Ms. Gyorffy

Bilingual
jjtupacyupanqui@cps.edu

Ms. Taguchi

Japanese (K-8)
ataguchi@cps.edu

Mr. Laughlin

Library (K-5)
Design (6-8)
jlaughlin@cps.edu

Mr. Hall

Music (K-8)
njhall@cps.edu

Ms. C

Dance (K-8)
Drama (K-7)
Visual Arts (6-8)
jjheyn-cubacub@cps.edu

Mr. Oni

Physical & Health Education (K-8)
doni@cps.edu

Ms. Pirillis

IB Primary Years Program (PK-5) Coordinator
fpirillis@cps.edu

Ms. Brown-Rivera

Instructional Core Interventionist
mhbrown@cps.edu

Ms. Beeker

School Counselor
hlbaumgardne@cps.edu

Ms. Gordon

School Clerk
jrgordon@cps.edu

Ms. Hernandez

yhernandez141@cps.edu

Ms. Maldanado

mrmaldonado@cps.edu

Ms. Washington

lwashington72@cps.edu

Ms. McGuire

Social Work
ksmcguire@cps.edu

Ms. Mason

Speech
dmmcnicholas@cps.edu

Ms. Huang

Psychologist
aahuang2@cps.edu

Ms. Riley

creilly1@cps.edu

Ms. Brooks

cmbrooks4@cps.edu

Ms. Koren

mkoren@cps.edu

Mr. Tinich

Room 307
ajtinich1@cps.edu

Primary Years Program (PYP) Classrooms

Pre-K

Kindergarten

First Grade

Second Grade

Third Grade

Fourth Grade

Fifth Grade

Middle Years Program (MYP) Classrooms

Sixth Grade

  • Room 304 - Tiffany Sutton, Language and Literature, Individuals and Societies
    tmsutton1@cps.edu

 

Seventh & Eighth Grade

  • Room 306 - Ellen Lipo, Language and Literature, Individuals and Societies.
    emlipo@cps.edu
  • Room 308 - Toni Robertson, Language and Literature, Individuals and Societies
    tsrobertson@cps.edu

Specialists

Fine Arts
World Language
Media and Technology
International Baccalaureate
Intervention & Restorative Justice
  • Myriah Brown-Rivera
    Instructional Core Interventionist
    mhbrown@cps.edu
  • TBD
    Restorative Justice Coordinator
    TBD@cps.edu
Physical Education
Counseling